Thanet Music and Drama Festival

The festival is entirely self-funding and receives no public financial support

Decorational image of musical notes

Our Gala Concert, with the trophies awarded by the Thespian Mayor of Broadstairs, Councillor Peter Shaw, once again revealed the breadth of Thanet talent.

Winners from the 2017 festival

Click on any of the images below for the full size version

2017 Festival photo 2017 Festival photo 2017 Festival photo 2017 Festival photo 2017 Festival photo


  • Cup for Speech (Yr 6 & under) Anna Page
  • Vinson Cup for Speech (Yrs7-9) Edward Broomfield
  • Mary Raven Cup for Speech (yrs 10 and above) Sonia Copeland Bloom
  • McCleesh Cup - Reading Aloud at Sight Oolong Khaing-Macpherson
  • Charles Dickens Plate Sean Docherty
  • Franks Trophy for Bible Reading (Year 8 and under) Jean Hodge
  • Margate Bible Society Cup Sonia Copeland Bloom
  • Lesley Nixon Shield for Choral Speech St Peter's Performers
  • Thanet Stage School Shield for Mime Amy Kemp Jones
  • Gold Cup for Dramatic Achievement Niamh Edgington
  • Dramatis Personnae Cup for Shakespeare Hannah Lyell
  • The Chidwick Cup for Dulogoue Mary Lyell & Gus Jackson
  • Roxanne Nixon Cup for Solo Dramatic Recital Not awarded
  • The Mary Lord Cup for Group Drama St Peter's School
  • The Lanes' (South East) Ltd Cup for overall achievement Reginold & Reynard Baskaran


  • Gandolfo Cup (11 & under-Girls) Daisy-Rai Atkin
  • Eileen Vesey Cup (13 & under-Girls) Abigail Heyfron
  • Cup for Solo-(Girls, 16 & under) Leonie Paige Carette
  • Rosebowl -Solo (18 & under) Bethan Fahy
  • Prebble trophy (Boys - Solo) Not awarded
  • Prebble Trophy (Junior, own choice) Kati Evelyn Stembridge
  • Metronome (Own Choice) Kayleigh Stevens-Keatley
  • Light Opera Cup (13 & under - Junior) Harriet Tyman
  • Regan Cup (Light Opera-16& under) Imogen Downey Edwards
  • Light Opera Cup (18 & under) Lucy Karczewski
  • Eileen Vesey memorial (Folk Song) Kayleigh Stevens-Keatley
  • Yvonne Ives Cup for song in a Modern Style Not awarded
  • Cup for Vocal Solo & Accompaniment (Junior) Not awarded
  • Cup for Vocal Solo & Accompaniment (Senior) Not awarded
  • Prentice Trophy (Lieder) Marika Landy
  • Solo-Senior Citizens Heather Grant
  • Edith Pritchard Memorial Cup (Highest Mark-adults) Becky Haisell / Jane Daulman (Tied)
  • Thelma Springford Bursary for young accompanist Not awarded


  • Cup for choirs (Year 6 & under) Upton Junior School Choir
  • Cup for choirs (Years 7-13) Not awarded
  • Shield-choirs-Sacred Music Not awarded
  • Shield -choirs- Secular Not awarded
  • Cup for Modern Cantata Not awarded


  • Under 8 Sophie Ericson
  • Under 9 Emily Spenceley
  • Under 10 Zico Faux-Bowyer
  • Under 11 (Vivienne Frances) Safia Jeffs
  • Under 12 (Mabel Adelaide Gull) Nima Fitzgerald
  • Under 13 Nima Fitzgerald
  • Under 14 Franciszek Wolny
  • Junior Cup (14-16) Hannah Baker
  • Senior Cup Matthew Weston
  • Duet under 10 Rawdon Hill & Emily Spenceley Duet under 13 Nima Fitzgerald & Yoshimi Faux-Bowyer
  • Duet under 16 Not Awarded
  • Junior Recital (Martin cash prize) Ami Watters
  • Senior Recital (Emptage Cash Prize) Laura Scott
  • Ann Worden Trophy Laura Scott
  • Millennium Cup Laura Scott
  • Blackburn Trophy Sarathi Spenceley


  • Cup for instrumental solo - strings Thomas Choi
  • Adrienne Gandolfo cup - Recorder solo Joseph Walton
  • Cup for woodwind solo Reuben-James Gilbert
  • Valerie Wolfe memorial cup - Duo Thomas and Grace Choi
  • Bradstow cup for brass solo Paul Ainsworth
  • Cup for instrumental ensemble - up to 6 players Choi Family Ensemble
  • Gillespie trophy for ensemble - 6+ players Not Awarded
  • Olive Raven Cup Amy Joseph


  • Richard George memorial cup Baby Theatre Zelia Tamulevicius
  • Page Barber Cup Baby Classical Zelia Tamulevicius
  • E & C trophy Lily Williams
  • Warren Trophy Amelie Dekker
  • Solomons Shield Connor Deeks
  • Thanet District Town Council Georgia Farrow
  • Broadstairs Cup Theatre Duets Meg Robinson & Nia Sim
  • Festival cup Classical Duets Lily Haines & Keira O'Connor
  • Katie Peach Junior Choreographic Oliver Jones
  • Choreographic Trophy Senior Alice Wiggans
  • Page Mason Choreographic Duets Megan Darby & Alisha Staples
  • Queenie Swan Memorial Trophy Junior Ballet Eden Andrews
  • Toni Elizabeth Senior Ballet Faye Joyce
  • Georgia Leigh Junior Tap Millie Hunt
  • Laura Murray Senior Tap Beatrice Boyle/Rebecca Pollen
  • LRT National Junior Tabitha Cole
  • National Senior Grace Filer
  • Summer Faye Junior Modern Maisie Hunt/Marcie Chick/Brooke Fordyce/Kine Thompson
  • Modern Cup Senior Leah Buwu/Georgia Farrow
  • Laurel Cup Greek Georgia Farrow
  • GOSH Song & Dance Junior Connor Deeks
  • CDF Song & Dance Senior Abigail Heyfron
  • Violet Bowler Memorial Junior Lyrical Modern Leah Manning
  • Doris Dorban Senior Lyrical Modern Megan Hunt/Georgia Farrow/Alisha Staples/Faye Joyce
  • Laura Ruth Junior Character Libby Coe
  • Patricia James Senior Character Seren Deeks
  • Trios/Quartets Leah Buwu, Kati Evelyn,Daisy Atkins, Kail Thompson
  • KAPA Adult Cabaret Jo Jo School of Dance
  • Classical Shield Junior Groups Next Generation Dance Studio
  • Roberts Trophy Senior Classical Footsies Dance centre
  • James Henry Junior Troupes Elite Dance Academy
  • Robin Winbow Senior Troupes Elite Dance Academy
  • Elliott Gilbert Memorial Cup Most Promising Song & Dance Conor Deeks
  • Rowe Trophy Best Male Dancer Conor Deeks
  • Johnson's Trophy For Sincerity Lola Palmer
  • Genevieve Award Teacher's Best Choreography Amanda Tooms/Classical group Opus 20/Footsies Dance Studio
  • Sara Bakeri Musicality Brooke Fordyce
  • Xara-Mare Shining Star Award 9 years & under Lily Haines
  • Zelia-Mae Award Most Outstanding Performance Beatrice Boyle - Tap
  • Landon Jennings Choreographic Troupes Emmeline Savory
  • Irene Tandy Memorial Shield For Endeavour Katie Evelyn
  • David Murray Shining Star 10-13 years Faye Joyce


Syllabus 2017


About the Founder

Review 1922

Valid XHTML 1.1 Strict! Valid CSS!