Thanet Music and Drama Festival

Affiliated to the British and International Federation of Festivals for Music, Dance & Speech
The festival is entirely self-funding and receives no public financial support

Decorational image of musical notes

Our Gala Concert, with the trophies awarded by Will Scobie, was, as ever, a wonderful occasion confirming the wealth of talent we have in Thanet. We are now busy preparing for next year's Festival

Images from the 2014 festival

Click on any of the images below for the full size version

2014 Festival photo 2014 Festival photo 2014 Festival photo 2014 Festival photo 2014 Festival photo 2014 Festival photo 2014 Festival photo


  • Gandolfo Cup Vocal Solo (11 & under): Zofia Wolney
  • Eileen Vesey Vocal Solo Cup (13 & under): Megan Bithel-Vaughan
  • Prebble Trophy (Junior own choice): Sophie Brinkman
  • Prebble Trophy (Boy's solo): Not awarded
  • Cup for Solo (16 & under): Kayleigh Stevens-Keatley
  • Rosebowl -Solo (18 & under): Not awarded
  • Metronome (Own Choice): Rosie Evans
  • Light Opera Cup (13 & under - Junior): Millie Price
  • Regan Cup for Light Opera (16 & under): Kayleigh Stevens-Keatley
  • Light Opera Cup (18 & under): Molly Mallon
  • Vocal Solo & Accompaniment (Junior): Leonie Paige Carrette and Theo Larsen
  • Vocal Solo & Accompaniment (Senior): Rosie Evans and Lydia Crosher
  • Eileen Vesey Memorial Cup (Folk): Molly Mallon
  • Prentice Trophy (Lieder): Charles Greenacre
  • Edith Pritchard Memorial Trophy (Adult): Lydia Crosher
  • Vocal Solo- Senior Citizens: Heather Grant
  • Yvonne Ives Cup (Song in a Modern Style): Molly Mallon


  • Cup for choirs (Year 6 & under): St. Faith's at Ash Prep. School Chamber Choir
  • Shield for choirs (Years 7-13): Manwood's Junior Singers
  • Sacred Music Shield: Not Awarded
  • Shield for choirs (any age): Not Awarded
  • Shield (songs from the shows): Not Awarded
  • Cup for Modern Cantata: Not Awarded
  • Thelma Springford Award Bursary (Accompaniment): Theo Larsen


  • Solos:
  • Under 8: Luka Knight
  • Under 9: Edward Cooper
  • Under 10: Anna Worledge
  • Vivienne Frances Cup (Under 11): Franciszek Wolny
  • The Mabel Adelaide Gull Cup (under 12): Laura Scott
  • Under 13: Jake Stevens
  • Under 14: Bethia Carter
  • Junior Cup (14-16): Not Awarded
  • Senior Cup: Alicia Swaby
  • Duets:
  • Under 10: Alice/Emily Kershaw
  • Under 13: Bethia Carter & Martha Carter
  • Under 16: Not awarded
  • Junior Recital (Martin cash prize): Charlotte Chambers
  • Senior Recital (Emptage cash prize): Not awarded
  • Ann Worden Trophy: Freddie Askew
  • Millennium Cup: Bethia Carter
  • Blackburn Trophy: Jake Stevens


  • Cup for Woodwind Solo: Reuben-James Gilbert
  • Bradstow Cup for Brass Solo: Hannah Prentice-Whitney
  • Cup for Instrumental Solo - Strings: Jessica Hogben
  • Cup for Instrumental Ensemble: 3-6 players: Not Awarded
  • Gillespie Trophy for Ensemble - 6+ players: Not Awarded
  • Adrienne Gandolfo Cup - Recorder Solo: Not Awarded
  • Valerie Wolfe Memorial Cup - Duo: Franek & Zofia Wolny


  • Cup for School Drama: King Ethelbert's
  • Thanet Stage School Shield for Mime: Phoebe Sola
  • McCleesh Cup - Reading Aloud at Sight: Omkaar Divekar
  • Mary Raven Cup for Speech (Year 10+): Maddison Eddy
  • Vinson Cup for Speech (Yrs 7-9): Thomas Oliver/Sean Docherty
  • Cup for Speech (Yr 6 & Under): Oolong Khaing-Macpherson/Molly Verner
  • Lesley Nixon Shield for Choral Speech: St Peter's School
  • Roxanne Nixon Cup for Solo Dramatic Recital: Not Awarded
  • Gold Cup for Dramatic Achievement: Niamh Edgington/Hugo Lamper
  • Dramatis Personnae Cup: Shakespeare: Charlotte Wilson-Holliday/Tobi Corteen-Coleman
  • Franks Trophy for Bible Reading (Yr.8 & under): Gabriella Rothman
  • Margate Bible Society Cup (Year 9+): Omkaar Divekar
  • Charles Dickens' Plate: St.Peter's Performers
  • Chidwick Cup for Duologue: Amy Kemp-Jones and Hannah Lyell
  • The Lanes' (South East) Ltd Cup: Thomas Blades


  • Richard George memorial cup Baby Theatre Carmen McCathy
  • Page Barber Cup Baby Classical Georgia Cornwall
  • E & C trophy Leah Manning
  • Warren Trophy Molly Beach
  • Solomons Shield Alicia Hunt
  • Thanet District Town Council Elisha Santer
  • Broadstairs Town Council Cup Theatre Duets Benjamin Derham & Jessica-Mei Nelson-White
  • Festival cup Classical Duets Grace Filer & Jenna Crowle/ Josie Young & Nia Simms/Darcey & Lucy Anna Littlefield
  • Katie Peach Junior Choreographic Aimee Tutt
  • Choreographic Trophy Senior Megan Stoker/Joel Cocks
  • Page Mason Choreographic Duets Summer Woodall Jones/Annie Bloomfield
  • Queenie Swan Memorial Trophy Junior Ballet Molly Beach
  • Toni Elizabeth Senior Ballet Daisy Morgan
  • Georgia Leigh Junior Tap Seren Deeks
  • Laura Murray Senior Tap Elisha Santer/ Jessica-Mei Nelson-White
  • LRT National Junior Mia Kearns
  • National Trophy Senior Jessica North
  • Summer Faye Junior Modern Eve Simpson
  • Modern Cup Senior Benjamin Derham/Megan Hughes
  • Laurel Cup Greek Jessica North
  • GOSH Song & Dance Junior Connor Deeks/Abigail Heyfron
  • CDF Song & Dance Senior Aimee Tutt
  • Violet Bowler Memorial Junior Lyrical Modern Faye Joyce
  • Doris Dorban Senior Lyrical Modern Elisha Santer
  • Laura Ruth Junior Character Leah Manning/Molly Beech/Louise Chamberlain
  • Patricia James Senior Character Nia Simm
  • Trios/Quartets Charlotte Ross Gower & Amber Meehan & Faith Topliss
  • KAPA Adult Cabaret Limelight Stage School
  • Classical Shield Junior Groups   Footsies Dance Centre
  • Roberts Trophy Senior Classical    Footsies Dance Centre
  • James Henry Junior Troupes    Page Mason
  • Robin Winbow Senior Troupes   Footsies Dance Centre
  • Elliott Gilbert Memorial Cup Most Promising in Song & Dance Matthew Walker
  • Rowe Trophy Best Male Dancer   Benjamin Derham
  • Johnson's Trophy For Sincerity  Isabella Pemble
  • Genevieve Award Teacher's Best Choreography  Lucy-Rae Tamulevicius for Seren Deeks' tap solo
  • Sara Bakeri Musicality     Aimee Tutt
  • Xara-Mare Shining Star Award 9 years & under Georgia Cornwall
  • Zelia-Mae Award Most Outstanding Performance  Jessica-Mei Nelson-White
  • Landon Jennings Choreographic Troupes Emilie Louise Champ
  • Irene Tandy Memorial Shield For Endeavour Callum Littlefield
Valid XHTML 1.1! Valid CSS!