Thanet Music and Drama Festival

Affiliated to the British and International Federation of Festivals for Music, Dance & Speech
The festival is entirely self-funding and receives no public financial support

Decorational image of musical notes

Our Gala Concert, with the trophies awarded by Geoff Lucas, was, as ever, a wonderful occasion confirming the wealth of talent we have in Thanet. We are now busy preparing for next year's Festival.

Images from the 2015 festival

Click on any of the images below for the full size version

2015 Festival photo 2015 Festival photo 2015 Festival photo 2015 Festival photo 2015 Festival photo 2015 Festival photo

Miss Vyse Cup for most successful participation and contribution to the whole festival awarded to Lydia Crosher


  • Cup for Woodwind Solo: Reuben-James Gilbert
  • Bradstow Cup for Brass Solo: Hannah Prentice-Whitney
  • Cup for Instrumental Solo - Strings: Jessica Hogben
  • Cup for Instrumental Ensemble: 3-6 players: St. Lawrence College String Ensemble
  • Gillespie Trophy for Ensemble - 6+ players: String Group
  • Adrienne Gandolfo Cup - Recorder Solo: Maedhbh McCabe
  • Valerie Wolfe Memorial Cup - Duo: Zofia & Franciszek Wolny


  • Solos:
  • Under 8: George Gannon
  • Under 9: Nima Fitzgerald
  • Under 10: Luka Knight del Sastre
  • Vivienne Frances Cup (Under 11): Tallulah Rhodes
  • The Mabel Adelaide Gull Cup (under 12): Franciszek Wolny
  • Under 13: Benny Z. Yu
  • Under 14: Zofia Wolny
  • Junior Cup (14-16): Megan Bithel-Vaughan
  • Olive Raven Cup Rio Kinoshita
  • Duets:
  • Under 10: Nikita Magill & Duwari Giridharan
  • Under 13: Jake Stevens & Laura Scott
  • Under 16: Martha & Bethia Carter
  • Junior Recital (Martin cash prize): Laura Scott
  • Senior Recital (Emptage cash prize): Rio Kinoshita
  • Ann Worden Trophy: Laura Scott
  • Millennium Cup: Ami Tupcharoen
  • Blackburn Trophy: Tallulah Rhodes


  • Cup for choirs (Year 6 & under): Upton Junior School
  • Shield for choirs - Sacred Music: Thanet Gospel Community Choir
  • Shield for choirs (any age): Thanet Gospel Community Choir


  • Gandolfo Cup Vocal Solo (11 & under): Maedhbh McCabe
  • Eileen Vesey Vocal Solo Cup (13 & under): Leonie Paige Carrette
  • Cup for Solo (16 & under): Kayleigh Stevens Keatley
  • Rosebowl -Solo (18 & under): Lydia Crosher
  • Prebble Trophy (Junior own choice): Rowan Tyler
  • Prebble Trophy (Boy's solo): Rowan Tyler
  • Metronome (Own Choice): Kayleigh Stevens Keatley
  • Light Opera Cup (13 & under - Junior): Leonie Paige Carrette
  • Regan Cup for Light Opera (16 & under): Kayleigh Stevens Keatley
  • Light Opera Cup (18 & under): Kayleigh Stevens Keatley
  • Yvonne Ives Cup (Song in a Modern Style): Jennifer Pirbudak
  • Eileen Vesey Memorial Cup (Folk): Sophie Brinkman
  • Vocal Solo & Accompaniment (Junior): Leonie Paige Carrette and Theo Larsen
  • Vocal Solo & Accompaniment (Senior): Keana De Zoysa & Zurafa Sakel
  • Prentice Trophy (Lieder): Rosie Evans
  • Edith Pritchard Memorial Trophy (Adult): Janet Ann Holt / Wendy Jane Farrance
  • Vocal Solo- Senior Citizens: Roger P. Lee
  • Thelma Springford Bursary for young accompanist Zurafa Sakel


  • Mary Lord Cup for School Drama: King Ethelbert's School
  • Thanet Stage School Shield for Mime: Amos Wollen
  • McCleesh Cup - Reading Aloud at Sight: Fatima Mansoor
  • Mary Raven Cup for Speech (Year 11+): Jadine Griffin
  • Vinson Cup for Speech (Yrs 7-10): Ronan Docherty
  • Cup for Speech (Yr 6 & Under): Thomas Blade
  • Lesley Nixon Shield for Choral Speech: St. Peter's Performers
  • Roxanne Nixon Cup for Solo Dramatic Recital: Hannah Lyell
  • Gold Cup for Dramatic Achievement: Jadine Griffin
  • Dramatis Personnae Cup: Shakespeare: Johanna Pearson-Farr
  • Franks Trophy: Bible Reading (Yr.8 & under): Jean Hodge
  • Margate Bible Society Cup (Year 9+): Lizzie Friend
  • Charles Dickens' Plate: Tara Woodley
  • The Lanes' (South East) Ltd Cup: Hannah Lyell


  • Richard George memorial cup Baby Theatre: Milly Rigden
  • Page Barber Cup Baby Classical: Eden Haines
  • E & C trophy: Amelie Dekker
  • Warren Trophy: Abigail Rose Maffei
  • Solomons Shield: Seren Deeks
  • Thanet District Town Council: Emilie Louise Champ, Megan Hughes, Jessica-Mei Nelson-White, Elisha Santer
  • Broadstairs Cup Theatre Duets: Georgia Farrow & Seren Deeks, Jessica-Mei Nelson-White & Josie Young
  • Festival cup Classical Duets: Matthew Walker & Amy Waterhouse
  • Katie Peach Junior Choreographic: Georgia Farrow
  • Choreographic Trophy Senior: Megan Stoker, Joel Cocks
  • Page Mason Choreographic Duets: Emilie Louise Champ
  • Queenie Swan Memorial Trophy Junior Ballet: Eve Simpson
  • Toni Elizabeth Senior Ballet: Seren Deeks, Aimee Tutt, Darcey Littlefield, Hannah Orton
  • Georgia Leigh Junior Tap: Molly Beech
  • Laura Murray Senior Tap: Seren Deeks, Elisha Santer
  • LRT National Junior: Madre Paice
  • National Senior: Chloe Lydia Dowding
  • Summer Faye Junior Modern: Megan Hunt
  • Modern Cup Senior: Elisha Santer, Megan Hughes
  • Laurel Cup Greek: Aimee Tutt, Matthew Walker
  • GOSH Song & Dance Junior: Olivia Stewart, Madre Paice
  • CDF Song & Dance Senior: Seren Deeks, Emilie Louise Champ
  • Violet Bowler Memorial Junior Lyrical Modern: Megan Hunt
  • Doris Dorban Senior Lyrical Modern: Elisha Santer, Matthew Walker
  • Laura Ruth Junior Character: Madre Paice
  • Patricia James Senior Character: Emilie Louise Champ, Josie Young
  • Trios/Quartets@: Jessica-Mei Nelson-White & Josie Young & Meg Robinson & Daisy Morgan
  • Jessica-Mei Nelson-White & Daisy Morgan & Josie Young
  • KAPA Adult Cabaret: Jo Jo's School of Dance
  • Classical Shield Junior Groups: Daluca Dance School
  • Roberts Trophy Senior Classical: Footsies Dance Centre
  • James Henry Junior Troupes: Daluca Dance School
  • Robin Winbow Senior Troupes: Footsies Dance Centre
  • Elliott Gilbert Memorial Cup Most Promising in Song & Dance: Olivia Stewart
  • Rowe Trophy Best Male Dancer: Matthew Walker
  • Johnson's Trophy For Sincerity: Seren Deeks
  • Genevieve Award Teacher's Best Choreography: Elisha Santer Modern
  • Sara Bakeri Musicality: Emilie-Louise Champ
  • Xara-Mae Shining Star Award 9 years & under: Molly Beech
  • Zelia-Mae Award Most Outstanding Performance: Elisha Santer
  • Landon Jennings Choreographic Troupes: Emilie Louise Champ
  • Irene Tandy Memorial Shield For Endeavour: Charlotte Rose Moore
Valid XHTML 1.1! Valid CSS!