Thanet Music and Drama Festival

The festival is entirely self-funding and receives no public financial support

Decorational image of musical notes

Winners from the 2024 festival


Miss Vyse Cup 2023 winner


  • Cup for Speech (Yr 6 & under) Gian Tarr
  • Vinson Cup for Speech (Yrs7-9) Zara Ansari
  • Mary Raven Cup for Speech (yrs 10 and above) Joanna Duraisingham
  • McCleesh Cup - Reading Aloud at Sight Alyssa Yeung
  • Charles Dickens Plate Jane Daulman
  • Franks Trophy for Bible Reading (Year 8 and under) Cosmin Popescu
  • Margate Bible Society Cup (Year 9 and above) Jerusha Duraisingham
  • Lesley Nixon Shield for Choral Speech Not Awarded
  • Thanet Stage School Shield for Mime Joseph Baker/Lexie Durrant/Tate Shepherd
  • Gold Cup for Dramatic Achievement Tilda Burgess
  • Dramatis Personnae Cup for Shakespeare Not Awarded
  • The Chidwick Cup for Duologue Aimee Hougham & Elliot Frost
  • Roxanne Nixon Cup for Solo Dramatic Recital Not Awarded
  • The Mary Lord Cup for Group Drama Not Awarded
  • The Lanes' (South East) Ltd Cup for overall achievement Mabel Dunbar-Brunton/Lila Grady/Suri Lear
Speech and Drama 2024 winners


  • Gandolfo Cup (11 & under-Girls) Frances Newman
  • Eileen Vesey Cup (13 & under-Girls) Zara Ansari
  • Cup for Solo-(Girls, 16 & under) Libby Field
  • Rosebowl -Solo (18 & under) Ruby Richardson
  • Prebble trophy (Boys Set Solo) Freddie Walters
  • Prebble Trophy (Junior, Art Song) Jack Baldwin
  • Metronome (Art Song, Own Choice, senior) Gabriella Margaret Barnes
  • Light Opera Cup (11 & under - Junior) Sohayla Takalobighashi
  • Light Opera Cup (13 & under - Junior) Oliver Milchard
  • Regan Cup (Light Opera-16& under) Mollie Gardiner
  • Light Opera Cup (18 & under) Charlie Palmer-Lowdell
  • Cup for Vocal Solo & Accompaniment (Junior) Not awarded
  • Cup for Vocal Solo & Accompaniment (Senior) Not awarded
  • Yvonne Ives Cup for song in a Modern Style Gian Tarr
  • Eileen Vesey memorial (Folk Song) Zara Ansari/Ruby Richardson
  • Prentice Trophy (Lieder) Marika Landy
  • Senior Citizens' Trophy Not awarded
  • Edith Pritchard Memorial Cup (Highest Mark-adults) Leanne Hardy-Wall
  • Adult Light Opera cup Leanne Hardy-Wall
  • Thelma Springford Bursary for young accompanist


  • Cup for choirs (Year 6 & under) Elite Dance Academy
  • Cup for choirs (Yrs. 7-13) Chatham & Clarendon Grammar School
  • Cup for choirs (any age) Trinity Graduates
  • Myhill Shield for Junior Signing Choirs Inspiration Youth Sign and Sing Choir
  • Paul Mills Cup for Adult Signing Choirs Inspiration Adult Sign and Sing Choir
Vocal & Choral 2024 winners


  • Under 8 Venulya Lande Bandarage
  • Under 9 Felix Koller
  • Under 10 Felix Koller
  • Under 11 (Vivienne Frances) Not awarded
  • Under 12 (Mabel Adelaide Gull) Pippa Sharp
  • Under 13 Ethan Jennings
  • Under 14 Ethan Jennings
  • Duet under 10 Not awarded
  • Duet under 13 Mabel and Pearl Dunbar-Brunton
  • Duet under 16 River Fontanelli and Amalia Mostallino
  • Junior Cup (14-16) D'Angelo Lazar
  • Senior Cup Emily Borg
  • Junior Recital (Martin Cash Prize) Ethan Jennings
  • Senior Recital (Emptage Cash Prize) Maximus Anderson
  • Blackburn Trophy Douglas Bell
  • Millennium Cup D'Angelo Lazar
  • Ann Worden Trophy D'Angelo Lazar
  • Valerie Jones Trophy Marianne Robinson
  • The Kenneth Emptage Bursary Ethan Jennings
  • Olive Raven Trophy Emily Borg
Piano 2024 winners


  • Cup for instrumental solo - strings Marianne Robinson
  • Valerie Wolfe memorial cup - Duo Oscar Sharp & Daniel Jennings
  • Adrienne Gandolfo cup - Recorder solo Not awarded
  • Cup for woodwind solo Not awarded
  • Bradstow cup for brass solo Not awarded
  • Cup for instrumental ensemble - up to 6 players Not awarded
  • Gillespie trophy for ensemble - 6+ players Not awarded
Instrumental 2024 winners


  • Richard George memorial cup Baby Theatre Harper Pay
  • Page Barber Cup Baby Classical Millie Copley
  • E & C trophy Ava-Rae Timewell
  • Warren Trophy Alexandra Kushaba
  • Solomons Shield Beau Stylianou
  • Thanet District Town Council Zahara Monfries
  • Broadstairs Cup Theatre Duets Kaiden & Kami Welling
  • Festival cup Classical Duets Kadey Baldry & Zahara Monfries
  • Queenie Swan Memorial Trophy Junior Ballet MollieTiley
  • Toni Elizabeth Senior Ballet Isabel Hales/Romy Laurens
  • Georgia Leigh Junior Tap Darcie Shelton-Smith
  • Laura Murray Senior Tap Logan Maynard/Dillon Turner
  • LRT National Junior Grace Timewell
  • National Senior Tabitha Cole
  • Summer Faye Junior Modern Ariana Lock
  • Modern Cup Senior Mia Gkikas
  • Laurel Cup Greek Zahara Monfries
  • GOSH Song & Dance Junior Aimee Hougham
  • CDF Song & Dance Senior Amelie Dekker
  • Violet Bowler Memorial Junior Lyrical Modern MollieTiley
  • Doris Dorban Senior Lyrical Modern Kadey Baldry
  • Laura Ruth Junior Character Mia Brooker
  • Patricia James Senior Character Zelia Tamulevicius/Lily Walters
  • Trios/Quartets Alex Grant, Ayla Fahie, Grace James
  • Elliott Gilbert Memorial Cup Most Promising in Song & Dance Molly Green
  • Rowe Trophy Best Male Dancer Beau Stylianou
  • Johnson's Trophy For Sincerity Elliot Frost
  • Genevieve Award Teacher?s Best Choreography Laura Murray for Zelia T's tap
  • Sara Bakeri Musicality Alex Grant
  • Xara-Mae Shining Star Award 9 years & under Ava-Rae Timewell
  • Zelia-Mae Award Most Outstanding Performance Mia Gkikas
  • Irene Tandy Memorial Shield For Endeavour Grace Timewell
  • David Murray Shining Star 10 - 13 years Lucy James
  • Ruth's Memorial Cup Bryson Dekker
  • Classical Shield - Junior Groups Not awarded
  • Roberts' Trophy - Senior Classical Elite Dance Academy
  • James Henry - Junior Troupes Elite Dance Academy
  • Robin Winbow - Senior Troupes Elite Dance Academy
Dance 2024 winners


Valid XHTML 1.1 Strict! Valid CSS!